Department Information

Department Name:   Department of Geology

Year of Establishment (UG & PG):  UG :  1984

The Department of Geology was established in 1984 with recruitment of Dr M V Baride. The first batch of Honours degree with 09 students passed in 1986 – 87 who are well places in various fields of life. Since then the department is on the path of success.

The department has completed 03 major and 02 minor research projects funded by DST and UGC. 03 national symposia were organized with publication of session volumes.

The staff members of the department were active contributors in Ford Foundation funded “Campus Diversity Initiative” project from 1991 to 1995.

Our Alumni has made us proud by holding crucial positions in prestigious Organizations like, Geological Survey of India, Bharat Petroleum Corporation Limited, Dr Birbal Sahni Institute of Palaeobotany, Groundwater Survey and Development Agency, Directorate of Geology and Mining, along with many Private Organizations like Different Oil Field related organizations, Johnson and  Johnson tiles.

Our Alumni are working as   Private Consultants for groundwater and geotechnical investigations, in Teaching and Research Institutes, and as  Lawyers.

The Alumni help their Juniors through Geojaihindians Alumni Association, Whatsapp groups and emails.

Infrastructure :  The department has independent labs for Fy and SY BSc  class and one lab  and classroom for TY BSc class. There is a room for AAS instrument. A staff room and water testing lab.

Instruments : The department has AAS. about 20 student petrological and 01 binocular microscopes. Aqua meter for groundwater surveys, 02 stereoscopes, the required glassware and chemicals for water testing. More than 300 minerals and ore minerals, around 600 specimens of rocks including rocks showing structural features, 150 fossils specimens,  a set of gemstones (cut and uncut),  Structural models, sample of crude oil, Various geological, economic maps, toposheets, world bathymetric model, crystal models, thin sections, LCD projector for ICT based learning.

MoU’s  : The department has MoU with 2 Government organizations : 1. Indian Institute of Geomagnetism, A Central  Government Research Institute, Panvel, New Mumbai and 2. Groundwater Survey and Development Agency, Pune (Government of Maharashtra)


Staff Name(Teaching non-Teaching)



Experience(In Years)


Research Area (If Any)

Arati Baride

Associate Professor and Head

M. Sc and

M. Phil

35 years

Quaternary Geology

Quaternary Geology, Hydrogeology

Mr Suryakant P Gaikwad

Assistant Professor

M. Sc

02 years



Non Teaching Staff :

Mr B P Patil

Lab Attendant


30 years


Names of Programmes / Courses offered

Intake capacity


One  Division

Certificate course in Geochemistry