Department’s Information

Department Name:  Mathematics

Year of Establishment (UG & PG): 1984

Brief Information about Department:

“Small minds discuss persons, Average minds discuss events, Great minds discuss ideas. Really great minds discuss mathematics.” “Mathematics : King of Arts, Queen of Science” The department of mathematics was established in 1984 by the then Principal Prof. N. K. Thakare. The department has produced two Mathematicians of International repute Prof. N. K. Thakare and Prof. K. B. Patil, who became Vice-Chancellor of our university. During the years 1984 – 2021 the personalities namely Late Prof Bhadane, Prof. A. S. Patil, Dr. B. R. Ahirrao, Prof. P.P. Patil contributed a lot to the department. Presently Dr. Avinash Patil is working as the head of the department. Dr. Avinash Patil is recipient of Padmshree N. S. Venkateshan Gold Medal for Best Ph. D Thesis in Mathematics for the year 2017 from Savitribai Phule Pune University. He was elected as a Member of the Sectional Committee of the section of Mathematical Sciences (including Statistics) in Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA)for the year 2016-17. Dr Avinash Patil has received AMU prize of the year 2014 for presenting Best Research Paper in the area of ALGEBRA at the 80th Annual Conference of the Indian Mathematical Society. The faculties are highly qualified and are dedicated to their subjects giving friendly environment for the students. The department always aims to develop skills, ideas and overall progress of the students. The environment of the department is very friendly which is useful for the students coming from other colleges also. The department is well equipped with two computers having internet connections (of adequate speed) and a printer. The department offers the B.Sc. Mathematics course. For more than 10 years M.Sc. Mathematics course was offered by the department.

Staff Name(Teaching non-Teaching)





Research Area (If Any)

Dr Avinash Adhar Patil

Assistant Professor

M.Sc., Ph. D. NET, SET, GATE

11 yrs


Algebra, Order Structures

Prof. Ravindra Prakash Mahale

Assistant Professor

M.Sc., SET

5 yrs



Names of Programmes / Courses offered

Intake capacity


One Division

M.Sc./ M.A / M.Com


Certificate course